Is All Vodka Gluten
Who does not love a couple of shots of vodka when partying out with friends! Vodka is one alcoholic beverage that is extremely popular among both men and women. A lovely evening out, or even in the comfort of your home, you can enjoy vodka. Or can you? Is vodka gluten-free? Things may get a little confusing when you are on a gluten-free diet. And we are here to clear any doubts you have.
Is all vodka gluten-free? Do you think of this question and are careful enough to check the labels of your drink?
Well, even the slightest bit of gluten in anything you consume can trigger an allergic reaction in your body if you are sensitive to gluten or have celiac disease. To answer this question- Is all vodka gluten-free? let us first understand the composition of vodka.
How Do They Taste
I tasted all of them to find the best one, so you can be confident in your next botanical booze purchase. I drank all of them in very little amounts with some water in between because, honestly, six full shots of straight vodka is just not a good idea.
While I can genuinely say none of them tasted artificial and I would definitely buy them all, Ketel Ones cucumber & mint and Smirnoffs watermelon& mint topped the list, with Ketel One winning overall. I really like mint drinks in the summer though, so I may lean a bit in that direction whenever its an option.
Runner-up outside of the mint category is Ketel Ones grapefruit & rose, followed closely by Smirnoffs strawberry & rose. I can honestly say I had never had anything rose flavored , and it was surprisingly not only interesting but really good. I actually went back for a second shot of both. .
None of them had an overpowering vodka taste, so if you dont really like the taste of alcohol or vodka in general, these would be a good option. Though a few of them did have a slight burn, keep in mind, I was drinking them neat, so it will not be as strong mixed with something like soda water.
Does Vodka Provide Health Benefits
Some drinkers enjoy the taste and the effects of drinking vodka and prefer the clear alcohol over other adult beverages such as beer, wine, or dark liquors. But is vodka better for your diet than other forms of alcohol?
Some low-carb dieters prefer vodka because it provides no sugar or carbohydrates . Most varieties of wine and beer come with carbs and some sugar.
Other drinkers believe that vodka is better for you because this light-colored liquor is less likely to induce a hangover. But whether or not you get a hangover has much more to do with how much you drink rather than what kind of alcohol you drink.
There is no better alcohol. Alcoholic drinks provide no nutritional value and very few health benefits . If you choose to indulge, enjoy the variety you like in moderation.
Drinking in moderation means consuming up to one drink per day for women and up to two drinks per day for men. A standard drink is defined as one shot of distilled spirits, including vodka one 5-ounce glass of wine or one 12-ounce serving of beer.
Don’t Miss: American Vodka Member’s Mark
Is It Safe For People With Celiac Disease To Drink Vodka
Pure, distilled vodka is considered to be gluten-free, even if it is made with gluten-based grains. Because of the distillation process, people with celiac disease should be able to safely consume vodkathough this is not always the case among those who are particularly sensitive to trace amounts of gluten or cross-contamination.
However, some types of vodka, especially flavored vodka, may contain trace amounts of gluten hidden in the ingredients that have been added after distillation. Those diagnosed with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity should avoid flavored vodkas to be safe. Always read ingredients labels carefully or contact the manufacturer if the list of ingredients is not fully disclosed on the label.
Also Check: Jim Beam Honey Mixed Drink
Smirnoff Vodka Mixed Drinks
Similar to other vodka drinks, you can create a variety of mixed drinks using Smirnoff Vodka. You can check all the drinks by visiting their official website. But in this article, I will tell you the top 20 cocktails you can make using Smirnoff Vodka.
Also Check: Svedka Mango Pineapple Vodka Nutrition Facts
Which Vodkas Are Grain Free
Here are the best gluten-free vodka brands:
- Tito’s Handmade Vodka. Courtesy of Drizly.
- Crystal Head Vodka. Courtesy of Drizly.
- Ciroc Vodka. Courtesy Reserve Bar.
- Grey Goose Vodka. Courtesy Reserve Bar.
- Cold River Vodka. Courtesy the Whiskey Exchange.
- Ocean Vodka. Courtesy Mel & Rose.
- Dixie Vodka. Courtesy of Dixie Vodka.
- Chopin Vodka.
. Also, what flavored vodkas are gluten free?
Here’s a short rundown of some brands that are gluten-free and perfect to serve at your next cocktail party.
- Iceberg Vodka.
- Ciroc Ultra Premium Vodka.
- Boyd & Blair Vodka.
Additionally, what alcohol is grain free? Some people who can’t consume gluten react to liquor that’s made with gluten grains, including vodka, whiskey, bourbon, and gin. Look for liquor that is distilled from something other than wheat, barley, or rye. Most plain rum and tequilas are gluten-free.
Thereof, is rice vodka gluten free?
Yes! Vodka is alcohol distilled from grainsincluding corn, sorghum, rice, wheat and rye. The National Celiac Association considers distilled spirits gluten–free, even if they’re made with gluten-containing grains. So, all kinds of vodka should be safe for people who can’t eat gluten.
What grain is Skol vodka made from?
Vodka is traditionally made from potatoes or cereal grains. However, today many vodkas are made from other food items, including fruits, corn, rice or wheat. Skol Vodka specifically is made with 100 percent grain-neutral spirits.
Alcohol Can Increase Hunger Or Cravings
Urban dictionary defines this as drunchies aka drunk munchies, but there is actually some science behind it. Essentially, your brain goes into starvation mode because certain neurons that deal with hunger are activated when you are intoxicated. In addition to alcohol reducing self-control, alcohol make it difficult to stick on your diet.
Read Also: Mix With Titos
Is It Really Gluten
Grey Goose vodka is gluten-free, according to the companys claims. They have the right to claim since they are now certified to have gluten-free resources extending to their distillation process. Grey Goose vodka was certified by Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau last August 2020.
This vodka uses single-origin Picardie wheat and water from a natural limestone well in Gensac-La-Pallue. These are all gluten-free resources that go through an extensive distillation process. However, their claims may not be enough for people with acute ailments.
What Is The Best Cheap Flavored Vodka
Over the last couple of decades, the trend in vodka production has been to produce and market higher end and more expensive vodkas. Luckily, though, high quality inexpensive vodka is making a comeback.
Dont get me wrong you can still buy a cheap vodka only to find out it is really crappy. That is especially the case among the flavored vodkas.
Nevertheless, there are enough really good quality cheap flavored vodkas out there to satisfy most of your cocktail needs. Some of the best include Summum and Deep Eddy. Both of these brands offer an array of flavor options.
Based in Cognac, France, Summum offers flavored vodkas for around $19 a bottle. Go for the zingy but well-balanced Piment dEspelette or the crisp, fresh Citron .
Deep Eddy is an Austin, TX-based vodka producer that has made a real splash with some of their flavored vodkas, especially their Sweet Tea Vodka and their Ruby Red Grapefruit Vodka. They also offer Lemon and Cranberry. You can find Deep Eddy flavored vodkas for about $17 a bottle.
Dont Miss: Svedka Percent Alcohol
Recommended Reading: Who Makes Member’s Mark American Vodka
How To Choose A Gluten
If youre wanting a safe bet and need to avoid gluten vodkas like Grey Goose entirely, then follow these simple steps:
Make sure that the fermentation ingredient contains no gluten .
Ensure the spirit is distilled a number of times.
Avoid any flavorings or colorings which contain gluten and are added after distillation.
Ask the vodka maker or check their advertising claims. If they say its gluten-free, you should be safe.
To be extra careful, find out if the vodka has been certified safe by the Gluten Intolerance Group.
Now that weve answered the question is all vodka gluten-free? we want to hear from you! What are your experiences drinking gluten-free vodka? Which ones would you recommend?
Recommended Reading: Alcohol Infused Watermelon Recipe
Best Flavored: Hangar 1 Buddha’s Hand Citron Vodka
Region: California | ABV: 40% | Tasting Notes: Citrus, jasmine, apricot
Hangar 1 is the brainchild of St. George Spirits Lance Winters, who set out to create the first-ever flavored vodka line. He ended up making Hangar 1, a brand now known for its unusually flavored vodkas . Now a Proximo Spirits brand, each batch is made with a combination of pot-distilled Viognier grapes and column-distilled wheat in a repurposed aircraft hangar in San Francisco.
One of the best flavors of the bunch is Buddhas Hand, a quirky cousin of the lemon. While many flavored vodkas on the market are packed with sugary flavors, the purified lemon extracts from the fragrant citron combined with jasmine, basil, and apricots that will make you rethink flavored vodkas forever.
An amazingly simple vodka infusion would be to cut up some pineapple and let it soak for a few days. It will impart a very nice fruit tone that can be enjoyed neat, or mixed into a fun cocktail, recommends Dylan Alpaugh, general manager of Sophia’s Lounge.
Also Check: Cactus Cooler And Tequila
Should Vodka Be Marketed As Gluten
Controversy erupts over new labeling law
Heres a new twist on an old drink: gluten-free distilled spirits. After a 2012 Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau interim ruling, gluten-free labeled vodkas hit the market this year, including National Basketball Association legend Shaquille ONeals gluten-free Luv Shaq.
Gluten, a protein in wheat, barley and rye, causes severe gastrointestinal symptoms in people suffering from the autoimmune disorder celiac disease . According to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, three million Americans suffer from CD, which attacks the lining of the small intestine and keeps the body from absorbing necessary nutrients. The FDA says CD is linked to anemia, osteoporosis, diabetes, autoimmune thyroid disease and intestinal cancers.
Amidst these serious concerns for celiac sufferers, healthy food eaters and celebrities are living gluten-free lifestyles, increasing the demand for gluten free products.
But the new spirits labeling trend contradicts long-standing advisories from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics that all distilled spirits are gluten-free unless it is added after distillation. So is this all a marketing gimmick?
But is this testing even necessary?
Is Distilled Alcohol Gluten Free
Although hard liquors such as vodka, bourbon, whiskey, gin, and scotch are made from glutenous grains, they are actually made gluten free through the rigorous distillation process.
So basically even though some liquors are made with gluten, after distillation, all the gluten is removed from the final product.
Thankfully, there are a couple fool proof liquors that are usually always gluten free such as tequila which is made from agave, rum which is made from sugar cane, and brandy which is basically distilled wine.
All of which are not made from wheat or any glutenous main ingredients.
Read Also: Does Grey Goose Have Carbs
Is Gin Gluten Free
Yes, gin made from potatoes and grapes is gluten free.
Although most gin that is made from wheat, barley, and rye, is made gluten free through distillation, those that are allergic to gluten or live with Celiac Disease tend to react negatively to most gins.
Thats why its advised to stick with gin variations that have been made from grapes and potatoes.
Famous gin brands like Hendricks and Bombay are technically gluten free through distillation, but since they are made with wheat, barley, and rye, these are usually unsafe for those with sensitivities.
Terminology: The Key Terms To Know When Buying Vodka
ABV: Alcohol By Volume the percentage of ethanol in a beverage.
Charcoal Filtered: Filtering with charcoal is thought to remove off-flavours in vodka after the distilling process before the spirit is bottled and sold. This helps to produce a more premium flavour with smoother notes.
Distillation: A process where liquid is heated and cooled for purity.
Neutral spirit: A term for a spirit thats without distinctive character, aroma, taste or colour. While most vodkas might be regarded as neutral, they still arent technically neutral spirits.
Proof: Another term for measuring the alcoholic content of a beverage. The proof is double the alcohol by volume measurement.
Vodka belt: The Vodka Belt is the part of Europe where around 70 percent of the worlds vodka is produced. It includes the Nordic states , Baltic states as well as Russia, Poland, Belarus and Ukraine.
Recommended Reading: Svedka Mango Pineapple What To Mix With
Is Beer Gluten Free
The popular beer brands you know and love are not gluten free. This includes the likes of Budweiser/Bud Light, Miller, Coors, Blue Moon, Stella Artois, Corona, and Michelob just to name a few.
However, there are quite a few specialty breweries that excel in creating naturally gluten free, gluten reduced, and gluten removed beers.
Popular gluten free options include Redbridge , Bards Gold Lager, and Glutenberg.
Just be sure to watch out for gluten removed beers which are made with gluten containing ingredients but have them removed through distillation. Unfortunately, this process is not 100% perfect resulting in U.S. retailers not being allowed to sell/market these particular beers as gluten free.
Popular gluten removed beers include Omission, New Planet, and Greens.
For a better understanding of gluten free beer brands and specific options, be sure to read our in-depth guide.
Frequently Asked Questions About Vodkas
What are the top 10 vodkas?
The top 10 vodkas, renowned for their flavour profiles, smoothness and use of high-quality distillation methods, are: Belvedere, Beluga, Grey Goose, Crystal Head, Hangar 1, Ciroc, Absolut, Ketel One, Pinnacle,and Svedka.
Which is the smoothest vodka?
The smoothest vodka is Belvedere vodka, which is almost velvety on the tongue and has a premium flavour to match.
Is Titos vodka good?
Titos is a multi-billion-dollar small batch brand and is a bestselling vodka in the United States. Its a smooth vodka filled with character that comes at a good price. Its known for its sweet, black pepper and corn notes and is a popular choice across the world.
What mixes best with vodka?
As a spirit famed for its lack of strong flavours, vodkas versatility means it goes well with most mixers. To bring out the notes of the spirit, go for soda and a squeeze of lime or pair it with tonic water. For a more flavourful drink, orange juice or grapefruit juice both mix well with vodka.
What is the best tasting vodka?
The best tasting vodka is Hangar 1 Fog Point, a small-batch vodka with notes of pear, citrus and honeysuckle. Drink it neat for best results.
Also Check: Jim Beam Whiskey Mixed Drinks
How To Prevent It
- Moderately drinking certain types like vodka, gin, rum, beer, and Blanco tequila would not cause hangovers. These alcohol drinks do not undergo heavy distillations and have fewer congeners.
- Getting plenty of sleep the night before drinking can help avoid symptoms of worse hangovers.
- Food intake is important to help the stomach in slowing down alcohol absorption.
- Drinking plenty of water can avoid symptoms of dehydration because the body will have enough fluid to function properly.
- Minimizing the consumed alcohol of the body helps the liver properly break down the components of the spirit.
But There Is One More Thing To Watch Out For
Below, youll find a listing of all the gluten free vodkas that you can joy. But remember, some vodkas do come in unique flavors, so its equally as important to make sure that those flavors are also gluten free.
Typically there arent any issues with vodka flavors containing gluten, but its just a precautionary.
So with that being said, lets jump straight into this gluten free vodka list!
Read Also: Best Svedka Flavors
What Is Smirnoff Ice
Smirnoff Ice is an alcoholic beverage thats made with malt. Smirnoff brand has a number of different ready to drink beverages, and Smirnoff Ice is one of them.
This drink is similar to what we know of as wine coolers or other stand alone alcoholic drinks, like beer or hard cider.
Smirnoff Ice comes in a variety of fruity flavors, and is a sweet drink that youd enjoy if you dont love the taste of beer or other alcoholic beverages. These taste more like juice than alcohol, which some people really enjoy.
Recommended Reading: Yukon Jack Jacapple Recipes